03
Jan
18

A brief on DUI charges @ http://leppardlaw.com/

In Florida ,  dui lawyer orlando   charges are determined based on several factors:  if any, prior DUI convictions are on your record, your blood alcohol level; whether there was any property damage; whether anyone was injured or killed.

Based on these factors, the other types of DUI charges include:

  • DUI with Property Damage or Injury to another Person

It causes damage to property or another person if it is a misdemeanor to drive under the influence.

  • Second DUI

If you receive another DUI conviction within five (5) years after the first for you have had a prior DUI conviction and, Florida law imposes harsher penalties. There is a mandatory minimum of 10 days jail time, with a second conviction, with a maximum of 9 months. If the second conviction does not occur within five (5) years of the first conviction, fortunately, there is no mandatory jail time. Leppard Law - Orlando Criminal Defense Attorney

  • Third DUI or More

If you are convicted of DUI three times within a five year period then A third DUI could land you in some serious trouble. You may be labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO), which means your license will be suspended for 5 years.

  • DUI Manslaughter

You may be charged with DUI Manslaughter If you were driving under the influence and another person dies as a result.  In addition, there is a 4-year mandatory minimum prison sentence. Punishable by up to 15 years in prison this is a second-degree felony and a $10,000 fine.

  • Aggravated DUI

An individual may be charged with an aggravated DUI if the charge is especially serious.   If you are found to have an extremely high BAC; serious injury or death occurs, or you are found to be driving under the influence without a valid driver’s license.




0 Responses to “A brief on DUI charges @ http://leppardlaw.com/”


  1. No Comments